Live like a five year old …..

The weekend is here, no plans in my house. Dad and mom have reached that age where you just wanna sit at home and watch some TV. Spend their only day off relaxing at home. They find happiness in here- “If you can’t relax and be happy at your home with your family, then you will never relax or find happiness anywhere on earth.” said a popular bollywood actor in a movie.

I couldn’t sit at home any longer. My body longed for some fresh air, I decided to go out for a walk. It was almost 15 minutes past 9 as I strolled down the park. There were a bunch of kids playing football. They were in various football club jerseys and boots and all other paraphernalia for football. They were happy and carefree. The first thing that I thought was “What are they doing in the park at this time?” before I realized it was a weekend. I stood there looking at them playing carefree and I really missed that.

football-player-clipart-bcyE9oygiI remember my days when I used to play till early night during the weekends. It was so much fun because we didn’t have to think of getting up the next day for school, or about any homeworks left. When we end the day’s game we would completely be contented and would be just as happy as the beginning of the game unlike the other days. I looked at them and I could only wish to go back to those days, when there were no expectations on us, when life was simple. We either wanted to be a policeman or a pilot (that was back then, kids nowadays want to be aerospace engineer what we called rocket scientist back in our days!) Well don’t get me wrong here reading all this, I am just a 20 year old. But yet I want to go back to my childhood, it happens to all of us. We all want to be young, go back to the past -maybe out of regret, or due unquenchable desire of going to the good old happy days. You come across this desire at least once in your lifetime, I can assure you that.

Today, for me the idea of success is much different, it is higher and a lot of thought has to be put in. When you were a child, to achieve success, all you needed to do was to work hard. But as you grow older its not only about the hard work element, it is also about the decisions we make in order to achieve your goal. We solely become responsible for all the events in our lives, this is when the word ‘regret’ creeps into our heads. When we fail, we regret of not choosing the alternate, not choosing the other path. The regrets pushes us to the deep pits of depression and frustration, and makes us older than we are. The regret makes us people who we are not. It blinds us from seeing the good part of the life and attracts more regret. If ever I could learn how to live life like a 5 year old…

Leave a Reply

